Plan B Festival

Published on August 25th, 2013

Plan B_FINPoster400Gonzo journo pub Vice once described Antiwarpt as a music festival where fans can “converge and witness the states finest talents,” and in the wake of the fest’s recent schism and virtual implosion, something new has emerged to continue Antiwarpt’s tradition of bringing the Sunshine State’s unheralded talent to the undivided attention of Floridian music fans looking for the best their state has to offer.

On October 5Plan B Block Party – the brainchild of Antiwarpt co-founders Brokenmold Entertainment – is set to take over eight venues in historic Ybor City, and for over nearly 12 hours, band’s as storied as blues hell bringers Nervous Turkey and promising as folk wunderkinds Alexander & The Grapes will present the music that is putting the state on the map.

Beloved southern shoegazers Sleepy Vikings will reunite and play their first show together in over a year, celebrated slowcore quartet Zillionaire are set to play what might be their only show of 2013 as they work on a long-awaited sophomore LP.  Over 60 bands make up the bill, and there’s a significant South Florida influence thanks to the inclusion of Ketchy ShubyThe Band In Heaven, and Sweet Bronco.

“There’s so much great stuff in the Miami area,” Brokenmold’s Sean O’Brien told PureHoney, “just such a diversity of sounds in South Florida; like Ketchy Shuby’s funk and soul, The Jameses and Lil Daggers’ psych rock, and Radioboxers’ latin-dance feel – it’s impossible to not include the region in the conversation when it comes to great Florida music.”

For the second straight year, the PureHoney camp is launching our asses up I-75 to be in the Tampa Bay area to see bands like Woolly BushmanThe DewarsLauris VidalSunbears!Sleepy Vikings and Auto? Automatic?? and more! We’ve thrown a bunch of Plan B bands onto the mixtape, so give ‘em a spin and acquaint yourself before making the roadtrip yourself.
~Ray Roa | Suburban Apologist

Saturday, October 5: Plan B Block Party @ Historic Ybor City (Crowbar / New World Brewery / The Social / Market on 7th / Dirty Shame / Roosevelt 2.0 / Factoria) 

$10 advance/$TBD day of show    More info:  www.bmetampa.com

RSVP on Facebook

Featuring:
Reunions of New Granada Records bands
Sleepy Vikings: https://www.facebook.com/sleepyvikings
Dear + Glorious Physician: https://myspace.com/dearandglorious

Along with:
Nervous Turkeyhttps://www.facebook.com/nervousturkey
Sunbears!: http://www.sunbearsmusic.com/
Duppies: http://www.theduppies.com/
the band in Heaven: http://thebandinheaven.bandcamp.com/
Saskatchewanhttp://ssktchwn.com/
Auto!Automatic!!: http://soundcloud.com/auto-automatic/sets/auto-automatic-new-album
Wolf-Facehttps://www.facebook.com/pubesonmyface
Alexander & the Grapes: http://grapes.bandcamp.com/
Zillionaire: https://www.facebook.com/zillionaire.US
Florida Night Heat: https://www.facebook.com/floridanightheat
Rocksteady@8: https://www.facebook.com/Rocksteady8
The So So Glos: http://thesosoglos.com/
Mrenc: https://www.facebook.com/mrenc
GreyMarket: http://www.greymarketband.com/
The Wholetones: https://www.facebook.com/thewholetones
Lauris Vidal: http://laurisvidal.com/
King of Spain: http://kingofspain.org/
Day Joy: http://dayjoy.bandcamp.com/
The Dewars: http://dewars.bandcamp.com/
Feral Babies: https://www.facebook.com/feralbabies
Zulu Wave: http://www.zuluwavemusic.com/
Booker & Norton: https://soundcloud.com/benjamin-booker
Alias Punch: http://aliaspunch.bandcamp.com/
Youngblood Brass Band: https://soundcloud.com/youngbloodbrassband/sets/pax-volumi
Flashlights: http://www.flashlightsmusic.com/
Empire Cinema: http://empirecinema.bandcamp.com/
Luxury Mane: https://www.facebook.com/TheLuxuryMains
Y Los Dos Pistoleshttp://ylosdospistoles.tumblr.com/
The Woolly Bushmenhttp://thewoollybushmen.bandcamp.com/
The Cowards Choir feat Andy Zipf: http://thecowardschoir.com/
Raguckas: http://raguckas.bandcamp.com/
The Send Offshttps://soundcloud.com/the-send-offs
bellows: http://bandcalledbellows.com/
Cats in the Basement: http://catsinthebasement.bandcamp.com/
Ketchy Shuby: http://ketchyshuby.tumblr.com/
Sun Signs: https://www.facebook.com/sunsignsfl
Atlantic Oceans: https://www.facebook.com/atlanticoceansFL
Alien House: http://alienhouse.bandcamp.com/
Radarmen?: https://www.facebook.com/Radarmenmusic
Early Forms: http://earlyforms.bandcamp.com/
Funny Bunny: https://soundcloud.com/funnybunnymusic
Cassolette: http://cassolette.org/
Sweet Bronco: http://www.sweetbronco.com/
Zap Dragon & the Attack: http://zapdragon.bandcamp.com/
and more!

Clip to Evernote